29 Comments
author

📚 Here is a list of the books that were mentioned in the answers...

1. The Road Less Travelled by M. Scott Peck

2. Prometheus Rising by Robert Anton Wilson

3. A Return to Love by Marianne Williamson

4. Dick and Jane Books

5. Alcoholics Anonymous: The Big Book

6. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

7. Dr. Seuss Books

8. The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle

9. The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz

10. Man's Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl

11. Letters from a Stoic by Seneca

12. Meditations by Marcus Aurelius

13. Consolations of Philosophy by Alain de Botton (Jon's pick)

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

The way of the superior man.

Nonviolent communication.

The Mind Illuminated

Expand full comment
Oct 10, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

Prometheus Rising by Robert Anton Wilson

Expand full comment
Oct 10, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

I have Read many really good books but I have to say the one that Made the most difference for me was “ A Return to Love “ by Marianne Williamson. Based on “ A course in Miracles “ which I have not yet been able to complete but I think I have a good understanding of . Thanks Jon.

Expand full comment
Oct 10, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

Anna karenina, hard to pin point how it exactly changed my life but Levin and Vronskies characters sort of melded into mine when I first read it aged 15. For one it made me feel it was ok to have a contradictory character and two, it infused me with a romantic yet helpful attitude towards nature and relationships.

Expand full comment

The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz, Trust: Living Spontaneously and Embracing Life by Osho, and The Empty Boat: Encounters with Nothingness (Reflections on the Stories of Chuang Tzu) by Osho

Expand full comment
Oct 11, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

Man's Search for Meaning, Letters from a Stoic. Currently reading Meditations and there's so much wisdom in here

Expand full comment

The power of now by Eckhart Tolle and the Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz

Expand full comment
Oct 10, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

Yes!!! Dick and Jane! Then the Big Book of Alcoholics Anonymous. The co-author, Bill Wilson had researched Life/God, which led me to do my own. Step 2 reads: Came to believe a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity. I had to come to know that Higher Power whatever It was!

Expand full comment
Oct 10, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

The road less travelled.M scott Peck

Expand full comment

The Power of Now - Eckhart Tolle

Atomic Habits - James Clear

Documentary -

David Attenborough : A Life On Our Planet

Recordings from Alan Watts, OSHO.. they changed my life completely. :)

Expand full comment

I can answer this in so many book filled answers but if you were raised at least in America at a certain time we had these books called Dick and Jane as well as Dr. Suuess and nothing made me feel as happy and joy filled as being able to read , . so they started a life long journey of reading and writing love which of course has led to a lifetime of learning and a blessedly open mind. So these books, in childhood set off a lifelong openness to diversity and acceptance, and I hope a cosmocentric world view which I continue to work on always.

Expand full comment

The books by Kim Stanley Robinson

Expand full comment