35 Comments

My biggest challenge at the moment is emptying my boat. Letting go of all attachments and identities while still somehow functioning within society.

Expand full comment
Sep 26, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

Studying for finals. 4th year of mechatronics engineering. Anyone else got any tips on how to concetrate?

Thinking about what I have to gain hasn't done much to me. I respond well to specific challenges and anything game-like (levelling up, gaining experience and so on). Any advice on how to proceed with my studies to get the better scores on my exams?

Thanks in advance,

S. V.

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

Pivoting into new stuff while keeping doubt and fear at bay. Reminding myself of the importance of keeping my mind in shape. The rest will fall into place provided my mind is fit. Letting go of old rationales. Being ok with Chaos. Perfectionism is my self-imposed trap. Learning as I go :).

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

Hmmm. Seems like an invitation to whine a little, which I seldom allow myself.

Without my humor and personality to soften the edges, I'll share my story, as I know letting it out is good for coping.

At the beginning of the year I was standing too close to gun fire without ear protection. Resulting consequence is hearing damage and now hearing aids. Hearing aids are being a surprisingly huge challenge and stress on my relationship with my wife of 50 years. But we're experienced at adjusting to life's surprises. However, at the same time I have had a diagnosis of "Adjustment Disorder with Anxious Moods". Sounds kind of bogus on the surface except where it shows up as big bouts of 'stupid' when feeling overwhelmed and anxious. Am told it can follow the death of a loved one, which it has in my case, a dear friend, a veteran, with no family, for whom I was his PoA and Guardian. He passed more than a year ago, diabetes and consequent dementia, as well as a tumor he didn't want treated. Trying now to stay present and accept that this is my life. My wife is being very supportive, but even that has meant a role reversal for us that I was not prepared for.

Covid isolation is not too bad right now given these circumstances. Thankfully I'm basically pragmatic and can roll with the punches life dishes out. Stoicism seems to fit well with the bits of Buddhism that resonate with my view of life.

That's enough. Thank you, Paul

Expand full comment
Sep 26, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

Purging to make room for more... I decided to redecorate my bedroom so I am purging old clothes and clutter to make space for the dresser I have my eye on.

Another challenge is synthesizing all the things I know need to be done for my business without getting lost in the feeling of overwhelm.

Expand full comment
Sep 26, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

Also taking dominant position on Jon at BJJ

Expand full comment
Sep 26, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

Navigating a bright future for my child

Expand full comment
Sep 26, 2020Liked by Jon Brooks

Moving on from a recent divorce and learning to be single after an 8-year relationship.

Expand full comment

It's strange: all my solvable problems are being solved, but all the perennial problems, the unsolvable ones are looming larger than ever, such as my parents getting older. These are the best times of my life, when I'm happy and healthy and have my parents with me. But I am acutely conscious of the fact that they won't be here forever, time marches on inexorably, and for every single day after they're gone I'll have to face a cold, empty universe without them...until I die, of course haha which doesn't exactly present itself as "the solution." Cheery, I know :)

Expand full comment

Coping with a recent measure of hearing loss and adjusting to the limitations of communications with wife and friends

Expand full comment

The challenge of believing in myself and actually going after my dreams. It scares me, I've been saying someday for a million years now. It's ridiculous.

Expand full comment

Another challenge I'm facing is how to write 'About me's or my bio's'. It's an interesting dilemma because shouldn't this be the easiest thing to explain? Who am I and what do I have to offer?

HOWEVER. It's proving to be quite challenging.

The way my brain makes sense of all of this is that as someone who has spent YEARS of her life making excuses, living in doubt, not trying to put my own works out into the world because that could lead to failure and rejection - this path has been quite interesting, challenging and yet, very rewarding.

Expand full comment