The Stoic Handbook by Jon Brooks
The Stoic Handbook by Jon Brooks
Stoicism is Martial Arts for the Mind
4
0:00
-11:00

Stoicism is Martial Arts for the Mind

"Life is more like wrestling than dancing."
4

I am a longtime practitioner of martial arts, but my greatest love is Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.

The depth of this practice has truly transformed the way I relate to my body, my “self” and the world around me.

But most importantly it has shown me how to learn, and I am fascinated by the overlap between Stoicism and martial arts training.

In this episode, I discuss some ways Stoicism can be learned much more efficiently if you approach it more like a martial art than a theoretical framework.

I also share something special that I’m working on in the podcast, so keep an eye open for that.

4 Comments
The Stoic Handbook by Jon Brooks
The Stoic Handbook by Jon Brooks
Modern practical breakdowns of the best ideas in ancient Stoicism